60% of MPs from Buganda want Mpuuga censured

At least 87 out of the 145 MPs who have signed the motion to censure Mathias Mpuuga and three NRM commissioners represent constituencies in Buganda, an analysis by Bbeg Media shows.

This represents 60% of all the MPs who have signed the motion so far.

This is a big blow for Mpuuga, the former leader of Opposition who is said to be influential in Buganda. The only silver lining from the analysis is that only one MP from Masaka district, Evans Kanyike from Bukoto East signed the petition.

However, in the greater Masaka area, a number of MPs signed the motion to have Mpuuga censured.

It will also be disheartening for Mpuuga to learn that the most high-ranking MP from Buganda, Muwanga Kivumbi, who chairs the Buganda Caucus, appended his signature on the motion.

Many people had expected Kivumbi not to sign the motion given the fact that he has a rich history of working with Mpuuga in DP and in Ssuubi 2011. But dynamics change. Kivumbi’s counterpart from Butambala, Aisha Kabanda also signed the motion.

So, too, did Betty Nambooze the MP for Mukono Municipality who some people had thought was close to Mpuuga.

In Kampala, six MPs have signed the motion and they all hail from the National Unity Platform (NUP).

They are: Joel Ssenyonyi (Nakawa West), Ronald Balimwezo (Nakawa East), Shamin Malende (Kampala Woman), Aloysius Mukasa (Rubaga South), Abubaker Kawalya (Rubaga North) and Derrick Nyeko (Makindye East).

MPs from Kampala who are yet to append their signatures on the motion are: Muhammed Nsereko (Kampala Central), Allan Ssewanyana (Makindye West), Bashir Kazibwe (Kawempe South) and Muhammed Ssegirinya from Kawempe North who is ill.

In Wakiso district, only Ssemujju Nganda (Kira Municipality) and Medard Sseggona (Busiro East) did not sign the motion.

The rest of the MPs from the district signed the motion.

In Luwero, only the district Woman MP, Brenda Nabukenya had not appended her signature. Hassan Kirunda (Katikamu South) and Denis Ssekabira (Katikamu North) had signed the petition.

In Mityana, all the NUP MPs signed the petition with the exception of Joyce Bagala, the district Woman MP who is Mpuuga’s acolyte.

Outside Buganda sub region, the MPs who signed the petition are: Former Leader of Opposition, Betty Aol Ocan; Margaret Lamwaka from Kitgum, David Lagen from Agago, Stella Isodo from Ngora,Tom Ekudi from Soroti, John Musila and Isaac Mudoi from Manafwa and Karim Masaba from Mbale.

Others are: Julius Emigu from Kaberamaido; Connie Galiwango from Mbale; Sarah Aguti from Dokolo, Susan Abeja from Otuke, Simon Peter Okwalinga from Kumi and Joan Alobo from Soroti among others.

The mover of the motion, Theodore Ssekikubo from Lwemiyaga told journalists yesterday at Parliament that the process had been “sabotaged” by some MPs.

With 145 signatures garnered so far, it means that the petition is still 32 signatures short of the 177 needed to force the matter on the floor of Parliament for debate.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *